ohwellhello

November 24, 2008

Disillusionment at Ten O’Clock by Wallace Stevens

Filed under: Uncategorized — oksothisisme @ 7:42 am

This is such a good and interesting poem! I love it because it is just a bunch of nonsense but it makes so much sense.  It reminds me of little kids when they get deliriously tired and start mumbling the weirdest and most random things.  I still get that way when I get tired and everyone says it is super amusing.
This also reminds me of my dreams that I remember.  I dont always remember them but the ones I do remember are wacky. 

Before I even get into the time I dream, when I’m dozing off, I see letters or shapes and it is almost like they are in one of those computer screensavers.  They move around on my inner eyelids and change in size.  I know this sounds rediculously weird but its the the truth.  I love to dream and to tell me friends about my dreams.  They love hearing them, too.  They mostly laugh but I don’t mind. 

I love the color part, when he refers to the night-gowns.  I can totally imagine seeing these things in my dreams.  I think that our dreams come from everything and every thought we have all jumbled together.  I have strange thoughts all the time that I think where did that come from, and when I have dreams I know those thoughts were the major influence on the dream.  I also love the last line that says “In red weather.”  I have no idea what that means but I think this must have been his dream and I can imagine him getting out of bed at three in the morning and writing it down before it slipped out of his memory.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.